My Thoughts About Exercise

Exercise is so important for your whole well-being.

Our bodies were meant to exercise. Remember that good old saying, “Use it or lose it”? If you decide to not use your body, your body will age much more quickly. Armand Tecco, the president and founder of HealthEase, explains these effects. “Your muscles will become flabby and weak. Your heart and lungs won’t function efficiently. And your joints will be stiff and easily injured. Inactivity is as much of a health risk as smoking!”1

I myself like to sneak in physical activity where ever and whenever I can. That could be riding my bike to school when the weather allows, hiking with friends and family, or taking the stairs instead of the elevator. Now, obviously that’s not any tiresome workout, but it keeps you active.

Here are some of the benefits to exercising regularly:

  • Boosts your confidence and self-esteem
  • Boosts your energy
  • Strengthens your heart and improves your stamina
  • Helps you sleep better
  • Reduces stress

I would recommend for everyone to find an enjoyable way to exercise. For me, I enjoy Pilates, Yoga, and other various workouts plus HIIT (High Intensity Training) with my favorite trainers Karena & Katrina from www.toneitup.com (By the way, check these girls out!). I also enjoy participating in marching band. This activity exercises both my mind and body. It also incorporates two of my favorite pastimes: music and exercise.

 

 

For a while now, I have been having an interest in Yoga and Pilates. Yoga helps to relax me and makes me feel regenerated afterwards. Lucky for me, my high school has a yoga club that meets once a week after school. Pilates challenges me and makes me stronger. Doing both Pilates and Yoga makes me feel euphoric (since exercising makes your body release endorphins).

I hope that you can make exercising a part of your life so that you may live a long and happy one. 🙂

 

Sources:

http://www.healthdiscovery.net/articles/exercise_importa.htm (1)

http://www.mayoclinic.org/healthy-living/fitness/in-depth/exercise/art-20048389?pg=2

http://www.blogilates.com/blog/2012/01/04/what-is-pilates/

Leave a comment