Cute 5 Braid Headband

photo 2

When I complete a craft, or really anything, with my own two hands, I turn into a kid again, jumping up and down and running to show anyone around me what I had made. I get a sense of pride and accomplishment. I made it, not a machine. It has a sense of personality and style, a piece of myself. Maybe that is just me, but I feel like everyone has some degree of happiness and pride when they make something really cool whether it’s a drawing or 3D art in art class, or figuring out how to build a robot in robotics.

This is what I want to help you experience if you want to learn how to make a cute headband (that doesn’t cost like, $10+). Please don’t be discouraged even though this braid has 5 strands. I promise I’ll make it plain and simple!

I have been told by many people recently that they love the braided headband that I wear, so I thought I would share how to make this unique-looking headband.

All you will need:

Plain t-shirt or an old tank top

Clear, plastic hairbands

Scissors

Needle & thread (that match the color of your t-shirt)


1. Cut off the seam.

DSCN8688

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2. Cut five 1” strips

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3. Cut each strip.

DSCN8690

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4. Secure the strips with some clear, plastic hairbands. I like to use three, so if one happens to break, there are other hairbands there to keep it together.

DSCN8693

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5. Begin braiding the strips by taking the far left strand and taking it over and under. Repeat until long enough to wrap around your head. Make sure you constantly tighten the braid, and keep your strands separated so they don’t tangle.

DSCN8695

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Check out this complementary video below for more help. –> www.youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TgQYKLuw-ds

DSCN8704[1]

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6. Bring both ends together and sew through all of the pieces of fabric. Then make loop knot and cut the thread off.

DSCN8706

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

7. Bring the top and bottom ends (shown below on the picture on the left-hand side) together. Sew again. Once finished, it should look something like the picture on the right-hand side.

DSCN8707 DSCN8709

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8. Yay! You are done with your headband! Enjoy. 🙂

DSCN8711

2 thoughts on “Cute 5 Braid Headband

  1. Making this headband looks like an interesting and fun project! The directions that you have provided, along with the photos, are very clear and easy to follow. I especially like the fabric that you used from a T shirt. It would be fun to make a multicolored headband with different colored strips of fabric. A braided headband, like this one, can be very expensive to purchase in a store. This is a great way to recycle old clothing and pieces of fabric. You are very creative. The headband is awesome! I look forward to reading about more of your projects!

    Like

Leave a Reply

